1.4 How to Delete a Reservation?

This article is a step by step breakdown on how to delete a reservation.

Deleting a new reservation

Once you have created a new booking and confirmed it, you will see an option to delete the booking in the upper right-hand corner of your screen as shown in the image below.

Deleting an existing reservation

Please note that you can’t delete a reservation if it has a payment linked or  a contract modification. You will first need to delete the payment and or contract modification. To learn how more about contract modifications, click on this link here.

We will use an existing reservation with completed status as an example for this article.

In order to delete a reservation, the status of the reservation would have to be set to “Open”. Firstly, click on the “Re-open Reservation” button, highlighted in orange in the picture below.

Delete reservation

 

The status of the reservation is now “Rental” and you are currently in Step 8 (Contract).

 

Click on the blue “left arrow” button, highlighted in orange in the picture below to head back to Step 7 (Pickup).

 

Once you have done so, at Step 7 (Pickup), click on the red “Cancel Pick Up” button, highlighted in orange in the picture below.

 

By clicking on the “Cancel Pick Up button”, you will be at Step 5 (Confirm) and achieve the “Open” status. At the top right of the page, click on the red “Delete” button, highlighted in orange in the picture below.

 

Once you have clicked on the button, it will delete the reservation entirely. Do note that deleting a reservation should only be as a last resort as you cannot recover the reservation and all the details.

I do not see the “Cancel Pick Up” button in step 7

If you do not see the red “Cancel Pick Up” button, that is because there is a contract modification or a payment linked to the reservation.

To delete contract modifications, navigate to Step 8 (Contract) and scroll to the bottom. There you will see contract modifications as shown in the picture below.

You will need to delete any existing contract modification. To do so, click on the particular contract modification as highlighted in orange in the picture below.

Once you clicked on the modification, a new window will pop up. Here, click on the red “Delete” button as shown in the picture below.

If you have done it correctly, you should be able to see the red “Cancel Pick Up” button in step 7. To learn how to cancel a reservation, follow this link here.

 

After “Cancel Pick Up” check the Payment (Step 6)

Payments need to be deleted to proceed. On step 6, check if there are existing payments in the system and delete them.

Click on the payment and the Edit Payment window will appear where you can click the Delete button and proceed.

After deleting the payment, refresh the page or click the Payment (Step 6) tab and wait for the Delete button to appear at the top right side of the screen.

 

To learn how to create a new reservation, click on this link here. To learn more about the different type of reservation statuses, click on this link here.

Sorry, but You need to be on a desktop or laptop to sign up for a trial.

Start your 14-day
Free Trial with
HQ Rental Software